I Accept

I recently started incorporating yoga into my weekly workouts; in particular with a You Tube yoga instructor called Adriene (the channel is called Yoga with Adriene or YWA).

From being previously totally inflexible, I found this instructor so human and encouraging in her instructions,  that I was soon quite comfortable with my own versions of downward facing dog, the cobra and tree pose.  I’m certainly not yet a yogi, but I accept that I will only improve with practice and I feel much happier trying.

buddha-1297531_1280

Adriene also runs occasional 30 day programs (e.g. Yoga Camp, Revolution) and sometimes encourages her followers to incorporate a short theme for the practice.  I was thinking particularly about this when I came to give this post a title.

“I Accept” is a case in point.  It means something completely different to each person, for sure.

For me it means that I accept who I am.

As a wife.

As a mother.

As a daughter.

As an MS sufferer.

As an artist.

And in each case, I have to accept my strengths and weaknesses.

Acceptance is very useful – particularly if I am struggling with something.  For example, I am prone to beating myself up if I fall behind one of my own self-imposed targets.  I am learning to accept that sometimes this will happen and congratulate myself for the things that go well.

Furthermore, I accept other people and their own individual make up.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m no saint! I will never accept any behaviours that go against my own moral code.

And I accept that!

Leave a Reply

