An unusual autumn!

seasons-158601_1280Howdy Folks!

So September’s here already, and it’s nearly autumn.  How on earth did that happen?  The year seems to have suddenly gathered pace, without a care to what else is going on in the world!

Autumn is my husband’s favourite season – probably because the weather’s just starting to cool off from the hot rays of summer, and walks in the forest with the dog are even more pleasant.

And going out necessitate coats, gloves and scarves, while being indoors is warm and cosy.

And soup! I only make soup during autumn and winter!

Personally, I prefer the spring – it always seems to be full of promise of what’s to come, and the days start getting a little longer.  People also seem more optimistic, somehow.

And salad! Truth be told, I make salad throughout the year, regardless of the season!

Having said all that, we have experienced a wonderful summer in the UK, mostly hot and sunny which has been fabulous for all the kids who have only just gone back to school. And there’s more good weather to come!

More humid days are promised from our weather forecasters, at least for the next couple of weeks.  I always feel happier when the sun’s shining!

In a couple of weeks, Ben and I are going on holiday to Barcelona, so we have even more sunshine booked!

But once we’re back, I shall dive into autumn and busy myself with schedules and plans leading up to Christmas and New Year.

I will pack up my summer clothes, get out my winter ones and rearrange all of our rooms, getting my house ready for winter.  It’s a process that I really enjoy.

Does anyone else do that?

As I write, the sun is pouring into my studio, my husband has just come up to drop off a couple of books that I need to research an upcoming workshop and I’ve just checked my calendar and see that some things need to be swapped around if I am going to get everything done that I want to get done.  I am literally juggling tasks!

But I don’t care – the sun’s shining.

Wherever you are, and whatever you’re doing – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

