A melange

nature-83657_1280

Do you ever get the feeling that you just can’t focus on anything?

I’ve had a really busy week, but I’ve had the thought that I needed to do my Emboldened blog the whole time.

So I said to myself – just now – “Enough waffling! Just do it!”

Right now, I am mentally “free basing”.   What I mean by this is that I am literally just letting my mind do whatever it wants and typing each conscious thought!  It’s quite freeing.

I learned to do this in the early part of my training career, when I would frequently have to write example text for my learners to experiment on – text which would be projected onto a screen so that they could all see it.  (Asking a group of strangers to just type whatever comes into their head is like asking them to jump out of a plane without a parachute – everyone looks terrified!)

So I would just type something myself to get everyone going, after which they would breath a collective sigh of relief and we could get on with the workshop.

I guess you could call it a gift.

And I’ve still got it!

OK – enough free basing.

At the beginning of this week, I found out that I would be going to Belgium early next month to facilitate a workshop to a group of sales and marketing managers.

As usual, once the feeling of euphoria had dissipated, I then went into a tailspin of terror, fear and dread.

And as always, my husband reminded me that I am very good at what I do, otherwise how did I get the gig?  And then assured me that it was OK to feel what I was feeling – and that it was a good thing!

So to keep the fear and angst at bay, I am working like mad to make sure that the material that I produce for these guys is the best that it can be!

And it will be.  And that’s why I’ve been so busy.

So now it’s Friday, so I am in my normal Friday mood, which means that I feel happy, optimistic, and am totally revelling in the moment.  Furthermore, today, the sun is shining.  I love Fridays.

But I don’t have a great deal planned for the weekend, apart from a bit of housework.  I’ll probably find myself doing some more work in advance of my Belgian project, but that’s OK.

And tomorrow we’ll go to a retail park where I will check out fridge freezers, because we need a new one. While my husband looks at laptops – because he needs one.

So whatever you’re up to this weekend, people – enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

