Barcelona!

barcelona-1018361_1920Happy Thursday folks!

So I’m learning Spanish in preparation for our trip to Barcelona next month. And I can’t wait!

I’ve always made a point of learning at least the basics of a language before we go anywhere that English is not the first language.

Admittedly, we’ve not gone anywhere more exotic than Marrakech in Morocco, but I have always made the effort!

Ever since we used to travel with Theo when he was an infant, I always learned enough of the local language to say to a policeman the equivalent of, “have you seen my son? He’s wearing blue jeans and a red T-shirt and he has black curly hair.  And he’s 3 years old.”

Theo used to have an awful habit of wandering off – he was a very curious little boy!

city-1320425_1920

Anyway, as things turned out, Theo never went walkabout when we were away, but learning the language has always been useful.

I’ve learnt the equivalent of that phrase in Arabic, Portuguese (European, not Brazilian), Greek, Spanish and, of course, French.

This was particularly useful during all of the years that we holidayed in France.  We always made a point of staying in places where there were very few tourists.  And you may or may not know that the French are quite reluctant to speak English!

I also lived there for a few months after college, so French is my best language – after English, of course!

But I could never quite get on with Dutch.  Happily, because my sister has made Amsterdam her home for the past 20 years, I now have a teenage niece and two younger nephews who are all perfectly bi-lingual.  Besides which, the Dutch are amazingly versatile and speak English so well…!

But Barcelona is my absolute most favourite city in the world!  I feel alive and energised when I’m there, so I can’t wait for our holiday in a few weeks.

Once I’ve finished with this blog, I shall get on with today’s Spanish lesson.  52% fluent, it says.  I’d love to get to 70% fluent before our trip!

Watch out! The Genie’s out of the bottle, and I’m likely to drone on about this incessantly until we go.

Sorry…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

